What social distancing looks like

Santa Maria in Trastevere; Wednesday, March 11, 2020.

A Wednesday morning at one of the most famous churches in Rome, Santa Maria in Trastevere. The people are gone. Italians – famous for jumping the line and breaking rules, in the words of NPR correspondent Silvia Poggioli, have been transformed. They are keeping to the strict rules established by their government. It is really quite amazing to see. I use that word intentionally. Rome, and Italy as a whole, is other-worldly. It is both a place that I recognize and one that I do not. And I fear what will happen in the U.S. if we fail to take such drastic measures to curb the spread of this virus.

Antica Caricara sets up a single entrance and exit. Customers line up to wait on the sidewalk as one customer enters at a time. The rest wait out on the sidewalk, standing one meter apart as dictated by the Ministry of Health.

One thought on “What social distancing looks like

  1. Thanks for this. I was wondering how you were doing. I’m as glad you are there to document this as I am concerned for your health.
    Santé
    LM

    Like

Leave a comment